Breaking News:

cheap valium buy valium online no prescription buy valium rx order soma online overnight buy soma online order soma diazepam without prescription buy diazepam without prescription order diazepam online cheap phentermine phentermine for sale phentermine without prescription buy tramadol overnight delivery tramadol online no prescription order tramadol overnight generic xanax online buy xanax no prescription order xanax online overnight buy ativan for dogs buy ativan online no prescription ativan no prescription cheap klonopin online buy klonopin online buy klonopin no rx buy provigil without rx buy provigil online without prescription order provigil online mastercard order ambien online ambien online no prescription ambien cheap
Yavapai County Primary Election Results
Written by Christopher Fox Graham   
Tuesday, 24 August 2010 20:26

With most precincts reporting, Arizona has posted preliminary primary election results. Yavapai County has posted all 112 precincts. Voter turnout in Arizona was 25.21 percent. Yavapai County turnout was 38.2 percent.

U.S. Senate

With about 12 of 15 Arizona counties and most of the other three counties' precincts reporting, incumbent Republican U.S. Sen. John McCain won reelection with 279,173 votes or 56.15 percent. He defeated challengers Jim Deakin, with 11.7 percent or 58,149 votes, and former U.S. Rep. J.D. Hayworth, with 31.92 percent or 158,729 votes.

McCain’s chief contender will likely be Rodney Glassman, who leads the Democratic party nomination for U.S. senator with 84,635 votes, or 34.2 percent. Glassman defeated opponents John Dougherty, with 23.8 percent or 58,898 votes; Cathy Eden, with 26.37 percent or 65,224 votes; and Randy Parraz, with 14.35 percent or 35,499 votes.

They will face Green Party candidate Jerry Joslyn and Libertarian David F. Nolan, who both ran unopposed for their parties’ nominations.

U.S. House of Representatives, Arizona District 1

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick [D-District 1] ran unopposed for the Democratic nomination and garnered 40,883 or 98.65 percent of the vote.

After a large field of eight candidates, Republican Paul Gosar won the nomination with 19,900 votes, or 31.03 percent. Gosar defeated Bradley Beauchamp, with 15.89 percent or 10,189 votes; Russell “Rusty” Bowers, with 14.46 percent or 9,275 votes; Sydney Hay, with 22.78 percent or 14,610 votes; Joe Jaraczewski, with 2.15 percent or 1,376 votes; Jon Jensen, with 2.46 percent or 1,576 votes; Steve Mehta, with 8.02 percent or 5,142 votes; and Thomas J. Zaleski, with 2.95  percent or 1,894 votes.

The Green Party and the Libertarians did not seek to challenge Kirkpatrick.


Incumbent Republican Gov. Jan Brewer won 400,921 votes, or 81.56 percent, and defeated Matthew Jette, with 3.34 percent or 16,428 votes; Dean Martin, with 6.06 percent or 29,807 votes; and Buz Mills, with 8.73 percent or 42,933 votes.

Libertarian Barry J. Hess won 1,125 votes, or 43.07 percent, and defeated Ronald “Ron” Cavanaugh, with 18.42 percent or 481 votes; Bruce Olsen, with 20.75 percent or 5420 votes; and Alvin Ray Yount, with 7.89 percent or 206 votes. There were 258 write-ins.

Green Party candidate Larry Gist and Democrat Terry Goddard, currently Arizona attorney general, both ran unopposed. They will face Brewer and Hess in the general election.

Arizona State Senate, District 1

Incumbent Republican Arizona State Sen. Steve Pierce will face Democrat Bob Donahue. both ran unopposed and neither the Libertarian nor Green parties fielded candidates.

Arizona House of Represenatives, District 1

Democrat Lindsay Bell will face Republicans Karen Fann and Andy Tobin for two seats in the Arizona House of Representatives. Republican Noel Campbell was defeated in the primary. Neither the Libertarian nor Green parties fielded candidates.


Verde Valley Weather



Cottonwood, AZ

43°F / 83°F
38°F / 77°F
Mostly sunny
43°F / 78°F

Online Poll

How often have you used a lawyer?
Poll Sponsored By: