Breaking News:

Close

Led by two-run home runs from senior pitcher Taya Smith and sophomore Jade Oium, Camp Verde High School won its third straight Section I softball title going away Friday, April 22.

Combined with a subsequent close call in a 3-2 baseball victory, CVHS has won its last four on the diamond over Sedona Red Rock High School. With a win Wednesday, April 27, at Tuba City High School, both Cowboys teams can clinch a bye through the first round of their Division IV state tournaments.

Camp Verde High School took a step closer to its third straight sectional softball title Friday, April 8, while a rainout put one more game between the CVHS baseball team and its first state playoff berth since 2013.

The secret is out on Hayden Uhler.

Most baseball or softball pitchers are fortunate if they throw one perfect game in an entire career.

Camp Verde High School has flirted with .500 so many times through its first 14 baseball games, the Cowboys [7-7] should nominate the percentage for Colonel’s Daughter.

In the unexpected absence March 8 of his teammate atop the Camp Verde High School golf ladder, senior Vance Tewawina still managed to fire a 40 to pace the Cowboys to victory in its three-team opening match at Verde Santa Fe Golf Club.

Senior Alyssa Watkins began her bid for a state discus championship March 2, leading Camp Verde High School at its track and field season opener at Wickenburg High School.

Senior Taya Smith did not allow any American Leadership Academy runner to reach base, pitching a perfect game in Camp Verde High School’s 24-0, five-inning softball win Friday, Feb. 26, over the Patriots.


It was the second straight road victory for the Cowboys, who started their season Feb. 24 with a 27-1 rout of Scottsdale Christian Academy.

Following tournament games with Mar Vista High School from Imperial, Calif., as well as a field of 23 teams from Arizona on Friday and Saturday, March 4 and 5, at the Wrangler Classic at Wickenburg High School, CVHS will travel Tuesday, March 8, to Parker High School to take on the Broncs. All games are at 3:45 p.m. unless otherwise noted:

? Wednesday, March 9 — Cowboys vs. Williams High School

? Friday, March 11 — Cowboys at Bradshaw Mountain High School

? Thursday through Saturday, March 17 through 19, 6 p.m. — Gracie Haught Classic at Rumsey Park, Payson

? Tuesday, March 29 — Cowboys vs. Hopi High School

? Friday, April 1 — Cowboys at Northland Preparatory Academy

? Monday, April 4, 3:30 p.m. — Cowboys at Payson High School

? Wednesday, April 6 — Cowboys at Round Valley High School

? Friday, April 8 — Cowboys vs. Monument Valley High School

? Tuesday, April 12 — Cowboys vs. Chinle High School

? Thursday, April 14 — Cowboys at Sedona Red Rock High School

? Friday, April 15 — Cowboys vs. Chino Valley

? Tuesday, April 19 — Cowboys vs. St. Johns High School

? Friday, April 22 — Cowboys vs. SRRHS

? Wednesday, April 27 — Cowboys at Tuba City High School